Author Topic: 2.0 Diplomat running issues  (Read 1137 times)

chrisP

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 23
Re: 2.0 Diplomat running issues
« Reply #25 on: September 27, 2017, 09:59:30 PM »
Thanks chaps, after two cheap sensors I ordered a genuine GM one that was sent from Germany - that had the same result> Are you saying the Bosch one would be different?

DKT1

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 109
Re: 2.0 Diplomat running issues
« Reply #26 on: September 28, 2017, 01:14:01 PM »
Was the new one all plastic?
I tried one of these and got a similar fault to you.
After checking quite a few on line sellers, I came to the conclusion that the difference between the plastic and stainless steel versions is the resistance.
I also found the s/s one to be easier to fit in respect of the sealing ring.
Carlton 2.0ltr Diamond Est

Dave the Builder

  • Wanted: Life
  • ******
  • Posts: 3436
  • Swadlincote,Derbyshire
Re: 2.0 Diplomat running issues
« Reply #27 on: September 28, 2017, 09:00:19 PM »
what about the lambda sensor ? they are only good for 80 to 100 k
idol control valve may need a clean and light oil, that's common
breather pipes ok?
checked for air leaks ?
If the above post contains spelling mistakes / grammatical errors / poor use of the quote function / a very weak retort, or is generally shyte; it's because I'm feked on a cocktail of drugs,homebrew and carb cleaner.sorry

carlton_mad

  • 3.0 CDX and now Diamond 3.0 24v
  • Administrator
  • Wanted: Life
  • *****
  • Posts: 6421
  • dartford kent
Re: 2.0 Diplomat running issues
« Reply #28 on: October 02, 2017, 02:45:12 PM »
Hi Chrisp where in kent are you? Im in Dartford and could possibly come and have a look!
what would life be like if we all drove fwd cars? feckin boring that's what rear drive or bust

Fonzypop

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: 2.0 Diplomat running issues
« Reply #29 on: October 03, 2017, 08:45:12 PM »
He lives on Grain

chrisP

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 23
Re: 2.0 Diplomat running issues
« Reply #30 on: October 04, 2017, 08:06:41 AM »
As Fonzypop says, I'm in Grain. We know each other due to having both Carltons and Victors. I would really appreciate another pair of ears eyes hands, I'm sure I could sort you out with fish & chips and a few bob for you're time. Thanks again for the very kind offer. By the way, you're about 20-25 miles away.
Chris.
« Last Edit: October 04, 2017, 04:47:54 PM by chrisP »

chrisP

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 23
Re: 2.0 Diplomat running issues
« Reply #31 on: October 04, 2017, 08:15:39 AM »
.
« Last Edit: October 04, 2017, 04:47:08 PM by chrisP »

carlton_mad

  • 3.0 CDX and now Diamond 3.0 24v
  • Administrator
  • Wanted: Life
  • *****
  • Posts: 6421
  • dartford kent
Re: 2.0 Diplomat running issues
« Reply #32 on: October 09, 2017, 12:21:18 AM »
Ok grain is easy pm me your number and ill give you a buzz
what would life be like if we all drove fwd cars? feckin boring that's what rear drive or bust

chrisP

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 23
Re: 2.0 Diplomat running issues
« Reply #33 on: October 09, 2017, 03:26:34 PM »
Thanks very much. PM sent.

chrisP

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 23
Re: 2.0 Diplomat running issues
« Reply #34 on: October 14, 2017, 06:26:40 PM »
Today I removed the wiring loom from a scrap Diplomat auto to possibly fix my sick manual car. What I never knew about was the additional ECU in the engine bay. Is this an auto-only thing?

Dave the Builder

  • Wanted: Life
  • ******
  • Posts: 3436
  • Swadlincote,Derbyshire
Re: 2.0 Diplomat running issues
« Reply #35 on: October 14, 2017, 07:13:55 PM »
the auto box ecu that lives near the wiper motor ?
IIRC , you can bypass it at the engine ecu by linking 2 terminals .
then there is the auto shifter inhibit switch 
If the above post contains spelling mistakes / grammatical errors / poor use of the quote function / a very weak retort, or is generally shyte; it's because I'm feked on a cocktail of drugs,homebrew and carb cleaner.sorry

chrisP

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 23
Re: 2.0 Diplomat running issues
« Reply #36 on: October 14, 2017, 08:36:30 PM »
Thanks Dave.  :)

carlton_mad

  • 3.0 CDX and now Diamond 3.0 24v
  • Administrator
  • Wanted: Life
  • *****
  • Posts: 6421
  • dartford kent
Re: 2.0 Diplomat running issues
« Reply #37 on: October 25, 2017, 09:10:35 AM »
Sorry i havent been able to get down my missus was in hospital having a pacemaker fitted and i have been looking after her since i will get down as soon as i can to have a look
what would life be like if we all drove fwd cars? feckin boring that's what rear drive or bust

chrisP

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 23
Re: 2.0 Diplomat running issues
« Reply #38 on: October 25, 2017, 12:32:18 PM »
No problems, I hope everything is going well with your wife. I'm away in Rugby this weekend but I can be around most weekends for you. Again, I really appreciate the help by everyone on here - it's like being on the Vauxhall FD Register forum. 8)

carlton_mad

  • 3.0 CDX and now Diamond 3.0 24v
  • Administrator
  • Wanted: Life
  • *****
  • Posts: 6421
  • dartford kent
Re: 2.0 Diplomat running issues
« Reply #39 on: October 30, 2017, 08:06:22 PM »
No worries ill contact you as soon as i get a day to myself
what would life be like if we all drove fwd cars? feckin boring that's what rear drive or bust

Dave the Builder

  • Wanted: Life
  • ******
  • Posts: 3436
  • Swadlincote,Derbyshire
Re: 2.0 Diplomat running issues
« Reply #40 on: April 30, 2018, 05:59:24 PM »
resurrecting this as Chrisp still has an issue
as you replaced so many parts
try re-fitting the original parts one by one
you may have a duff new part ,not unheard of
it's a classic cts fault symptom wise
but making sure all the earths are good is also good practice

what are the spark plugs like after running rough ?
oil on them ? 275k is on the high end
also,what oil are you using ?
« Last Edit: April 30, 2018, 06:02:55 PM by Dave the Builder »
If the above post contains spelling mistakes / grammatical errors / poor use of the quote function / a very weak retort, or is generally shyte; it's because I'm feked on a cocktail of drugs,homebrew and carb cleaner.sorry

chrisP

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 23
Re: 2.0 Diplomat running issues
« Reply #41 on: May 14, 2018, 06:53:59 PM »
Hi Dave, I have used Castrol Magnatex from the day I bought the car, I've done well over a dozen oil / filter changes. I've never cut corners on maintenance. Before I can go any further I've had a further catastrophe - I lost my keys back in the snow period (pushing stranded drivers the fell out of my pocket, realised a few hours later. I retraced my steps a couple of days later and went to the police station. Nothing. Since replacing our kitchen shortly before the initial running issues, I've lost my spare keys too!  :'( I have the spare Carlton to rob from, but it's such a pain losing them after 19 years. I have the key number, but that was just the 3 digit stamped into the key (I presume this doesn't mean another key would fit?) like my 60's & 70's Vauxhalls - their 3 digit codes do mean 'the same key'.

Dave the Builder

  • Wanted: Life
  • ******
  • Posts: 3436
  • Swadlincote,Derbyshire
Re: 2.0 Diplomat running issues
« Reply #42 on: May 14, 2018, 07:17:43 PM »
Magnetec is 10/40 bit thin for a 250+k engine
check your spark plugs ,do compression test
will message you
If the above post contains spelling mistakes / grammatical errors / poor use of the quote function / a very weak retort, or is generally shyte; it's because I'm feked on a cocktail of drugs,homebrew and carb cleaner.sorry