Author Topic: Hello!!  (Read 3388 times)

Fletch26

Hello!!
« on: July 22, 2014, 08:53:59 PM »
Hi folks,

Picking up a Carlton on Sunday with a view to restore it. I am a mechanic, but know nothing about these cars. Don't know what year it is, colour or even trim. All I know is that it's a 1.8 that used to run until it was stood and now doesn't. Turns over and sparks but no fuel. As you can see, this really is a blind project for me, so I'll undoubtedly be asking lots of questions along the way.

Also, thanks to the admin who got my account activated.

Fletch26

0795omega

Re: Hello!!
« Reply #1 on: July 23, 2014, 12:45:13 PM »
good luck with that,not many 1.8 ones around now

Fletch26

« Reply #2 on: July 23, 2014, 01:33:08 PM »
Thanks. Parts will be hard to come by then. Oh dear.

PeterC

• Wanted: Life
« Reply #3 on: July 23, 2014, 04:00:32 PM »
Welcome to the wonderful world of Carltons.

I think a reasonable quantity of engine bits will be the same as for Cavaliers etc. Perhaps the non-start is the fuel pump relay as this is a common problem (about 5 and a knuckle bash behind the trim just to the right of the accelerator pedal on the way up to the dash). Generally a reliable lump though.
1993 2.0 CD(X)i Auto Estate (Rioja Red very little tin worm & reasonable paint).
RIP - 1992 2.0 CDXi Manual Estate (Spectral Blue with far too much tin worm, now only parts).

Old age means wondering: Do I really have to struggle to become an expert in something I might never need to do again.

Fletch26

« Reply #4 on: July 23, 2014, 06:02:46 PM »
Welcome to the wonderful world of Carltons.

I think a reasonable quantity of engine bits will be the same as for Cavaliers etc. Perhaps the non-start is the fuel pump relay as this is a common problem (about 5 and a knuckle bash behind the trim just to the right of the accelerator pedal on the way up to the dash). Generally a reliable lump though.