Author Topic: 2.0 Diplomat running issues  (Read 2250 times)

chrisP

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 25
Re: 2.0 Diplomat running issues
« Reply #25 on: September 27, 2017, 09:59:30 PM »
Thanks chaps, after two cheap sensors I ordered a genuine GM one that was sent from Germany - that had the same result> Are you saying the Bosch one would be different?

DKT1

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 116
Re: 2.0 Diplomat running issues
« Reply #26 on: September 28, 2017, 01:14:01 PM »
Was the new one all plastic?
I tried one of these and got a similar fault to you.
After checking quite a few on line sellers, I came to the conclusion that the difference between the plastic and stainless steel versions is the resistance.
I also found the s/s one to be easier to fit in respect of the sealing ring.
Carlton 2.0ltr Diamond Est

Dave the Builder

  • Wanted: Life
  • ******
  • Posts: 3444
  • Swadlincote,Derbyshire
Re: 2.0 Diplomat running issues
« Reply #27 on: September 28, 2017, 09:00:19 PM »
what about the lambda sensor ? they are only good for 80 to 100 k
idol control valve may need a clean and light oil, that's common
breather pipes ok?
checked for air leaks ?
If the above post contains spelling mistakes / grammatical errors / poor use of the quote function / a very weak retort, or is generally shyte; it's because I'm feked on a cocktail of drugs,homebrew and carb cleaner.sorry

carlton_mad

  • 3.0 CDX and now Diamond 3.0 24v
  • Administrator
  • Wanted: Life
  • *****
  • Posts: 6422
  • dartford kent
Re: 2.0 Diplomat running issues
« Reply #28 on: October 02, 2017, 02:45:12 PM »
Hi Chrisp where in kent are you? Im in Dartford and could possibly come and have a look!
what would life be like if we all drove fwd cars? feckin boring that's what rear drive or bust

Fonzypop

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: 2.0 Diplomat running issues
« Reply #29 on: October 03, 2017, 08:45:12 PM »
He lives on Grain

chrisP

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 25
Re: 2.0 Diplomat running issues
« Reply #30 on: October 04, 2017, 08:06:41 AM »
As Fonzypop says, I'm in Grain. We know each other due to having both Carltons and Victors. I would really appreciate another pair of ears eyes hands, I'm sure I could sort you out with fish & chips and a few bob for you're time. Thanks again for the very kind offer. By the way, you're about 20-25 miles away.
Chris.
« Last Edit: October 04, 2017, 04:47:54 PM by chrisP »

chrisP

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 25
Re: 2.0 Diplomat running issues
« Reply #31 on: October 04, 2017, 08:15:39 AM »
.
« Last Edit: October 04, 2017, 04:47:08 PM by chrisP »

carlton_mad

  • 3.0 CDX and now Diamond 3.0 24v
  • Administrator
  • Wanted: Life
  • *****
  • Posts: 6422
  • dartford kent
Re: 2.0 Diplomat running issues
« Reply #32 on: October 09, 2017, 12:21:18 AM »
Ok grain is easy pm me your number and ill give you a buzz
what would life be like if we all drove fwd cars? feckin boring that's what rear drive or bust

chrisP

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 25
Re: 2.0 Diplomat running issues
« Reply #33 on: October 09, 2017, 03:26:34 PM »
Thanks very much. PM sent.

chrisP

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 25
Re: 2.0 Diplomat running issues
« Reply #34 on: October 14, 2017, 06:26:40 PM »
Today I removed the wiring loom from a scrap Diplomat auto to possibly fix my sick manual car. What I never knew about was the additional ECU in the engine bay. Is this an auto-only thing?

Dave the Builder

  • Wanted: Life
  • ******
  • Posts: 3444
  • Swadlincote,Derbyshire
Re: 2.0 Diplomat running issues
« Reply #35 on: October 14, 2017, 07:13:55 PM »
the auto box ecu that lives near the wiper motor ?
IIRC , you can bypass it at the engine ecu by linking 2 terminals .
then there is the auto shifter inhibit switch 
If the above post contains spelling mistakes / grammatical errors / poor use of the quote function / a very weak retort, or is generally shyte; it's because I'm feked on a cocktail of drugs,homebrew and carb cleaner.sorry

chrisP

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 25
Re: 2.0 Diplomat running issues
« Reply #36 on: October 14, 2017, 08:36:30 PM »
Thanks Dave.  :)

carlton_mad

  • 3.0 CDX and now Diamond 3.0 24v
  • Administrator
  • Wanted: Life
  • *****
  • Posts: 6422
  • dartford kent
Re: 2.0 Diplomat running issues
« Reply #37 on: October 25, 2017, 09:10:35 AM »
Sorry i havent been able to get down my missus was in hospital having a pacemaker fitted and i have been looking after her since i will get down as soon as i can to have a look
what would life be like if we all drove fwd cars? feckin boring that's what rear drive or bust

chrisP

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 25
Re: 2.0 Diplomat running issues
« Reply #38 on: October 25, 2017, 12:32:18 PM »
No problems, I hope everything is going well with your wife. I'm away in Rugby this weekend but I can be around most weekends for you. Again, I really appreciate the help by everyone on here - it's like being on the Vauxhall FD Register forum. 8)

carlton_mad

  • 3.0 CDX and now Diamond 3.0 24v
  • Administrator
  • Wanted: Life
  • *****
  • Posts: 6422
  • dartford kent
Re: 2.0 Diplomat running issues
« Reply #39 on: October 30, 2017, 08:06:22 PM »
No worries ill contact you as soon as i get a day to myself
what would life be like if we all drove fwd cars? feckin boring that's what rear drive or bust

Dave the Builder

  • Wanted: Life
  • ******
  • Posts: 3444
  • Swadlincote,Derbyshire
Re: 2.0 Diplomat running issues
« Reply #40 on: April 30, 2018, 05:59:24 PM »
resurrecting this as Chrisp still has an issue
as you replaced so many parts
try re-fitting the original parts one by one
you may have a duff new part ,not unheard of
it's a classic cts fault symptom wise
but making sure all the earths are good is also good practice

what are the spark plugs like after running rough ?
oil on them ? 275k is on the high end
also,what oil are you using ?
« Last Edit: April 30, 2018, 06:02:55 PM by Dave the Builder »
If the above post contains spelling mistakes / grammatical errors / poor use of the quote function / a very weak retort, or is generally shyte; it's because I'm feked on a cocktail of drugs,homebrew and carb cleaner.sorry

chrisP

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 25
Re: 2.0 Diplomat running issues
« Reply #41 on: May 14, 2018, 06:53:59 PM »
Hi Dave, I have used Castrol Magnatex from the day I bought the car, I've done well over a dozen oil / filter changes. I've never cut corners on maintenance. Before I can go any further I've had a further catastrophe - I lost my keys back in the snow period (pushing stranded drivers the fell out of my pocket, realised a few hours later. I retraced my steps a couple of days later and went to the police station. Nothing. Since replacing our kitchen shortly before the initial running issues, I've lost my spare keys too!  :'( I have the spare Carlton to rob from, but it's such a pain losing them after 19 years. I have the key number, but that was just the 3 digit stamped into the key (I presume this doesn't mean another key would fit?) like my 60's & 70's Vauxhalls - their 3 digit codes do mean 'the same key'.

Dave the Builder

  • Wanted: Life
  • ******
  • Posts: 3444
  • Swadlincote,Derbyshire
Re: 2.0 Diplomat running issues
« Reply #42 on: May 14, 2018, 07:17:43 PM »
Magnetec is 10/40 bit thin for a 250+k engine
check your spark plugs ,do compression test
will message you
If the above post contains spelling mistakes / grammatical errors / poor use of the quote function / a very weak retort, or is generally shyte; it's because I'm feked on a cocktail of drugs,homebrew and carb cleaner.sorry

chrisP

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 25
Re: 2.0 Diplomat running issues
« Reply #43 on: June 05, 2018, 07:09:53 PM »
Happy today - found the spare key to the Carlton, and, just in time, as three mates are coming Saturday to play with the car again.

If anyone in the area fancies free lunch tea coffee and jokes, pop along to mine - ME3 0DQ.  ;)

By the way how easy is it to get a spare key cut, or even find a blank?

0795omega

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 516
Re: 2.0 Diplomat running issues
« Reply #44 on: June 06, 2018, 12:15:08 PM »
thats good news,would have thought most decent key cutters/locksmiths still carry the vauxhall blank key for cutting a new one?

chrisP

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 25
Re: 2.0 Diplomat running issues
« Reply #45 on: June 06, 2018, 05:31:34 PM »
I believe the key is something like a HU43 blank? I bought one cheap from ebay to see. I'll update on here if it works.  ;)